Becoming A Cliché In One Move

Suddenly, after all these years, I am Adulting.

John Lewis
3 min readJan 16, 2022
Photo by Doruk Yemenici on Unsplash

Just before Christmas, a friend messaged me and asked if I had a Hot Pot.

Didn’t have one, and even remarked that I had looked at the device and didn’t care for what I saw. It was an unusual enough message that it prompted the question why do you ask?, thinking that he was looking to borrow one.

I was thinking about getting you one for the holiday was the reply. Oops.

Inadvertently hurting my friend’s feelings wasn’t on my agenda, but I am glad to have headed this particular thing off at the pass. You see, I don’t need more single-use gadgets in my life; what’s needed is simple basics, like clothing and food. In short, I’ve become my parents.

After all, who needs the following?

A tray that helps defrost frozen foodstuffs faster, for, well, reasons. This is a product that goes back to the 1970s As Seen On TV and under various names has never disappeared. It’s kinda like a denizen of Camp Crystal Lake that way in that you’ll…

--

--

John Lewis

John Lewis was born in Europe, and came by both wanderlust and curiosity from that beginning. He considers this his Third Act in Life.